May 30, 2024

The National Youth Organizer of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) Henry Nana Boakye widely known as Nana-B has said the just ended parliamentary primaries of the party are the most peaceful, transparent, free, fair and brotherhood internal elections he has witnessed in his political career.

According to him, the Delegates and the aspirants have demonstrated to Ghanaian people that the NPP is a party of democracy and rule of law.

Nana B commeded all stakeholders including the flagbearer of the party and the vice president Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia and the national, regional, constituency, electoral area and polling station executives of the party and the delegates for conducted themselves according to the rules and regulations during and after the electios.

“I can say and cofers that I have not seen internal primaries that are peaceful, transparent, free and fair like what we witnessed on Saturday before. If I combine our orphan constituencies and our sitting MPs together, this is the most transparent, free, fair, brotherhood election so far. In fact, it is the best internal elections I have witnessed as a party member and I hope that party executives and the leader of the party, His Excellency, Alhaji Mahamudu Bawumia our flagbearer and the entire national, regional, constituency, electoral area and polling station executives of the party” He said.

Nana B believes that the youthful parliamentary candidates and the current executives of the party will help them to break the eight in the December 7 2024 general elections.

“Our research shows in the 2016 and 2020 elections that anytime the party elects new leaders, their votes increase. That doesn’t mean we should change the executives everyday but anytime we get new faces our votes increase so in a very crucial elections like 2024, the new faces and the new energy will help us to get massive votes to secure a majority for the NPP in the ninth Parliament of the 4th Republic and help return an NPP presidential candidate into office on 7th january 2025.” He stated.

Meanwhile, Senior Lecturer and a former Head of the Department of Political Science Education at the University of Education, Winneba, Isaac Brako has lamented over vote buying in the NPP primaries.

According to him, spreading money in elections affects democracy and the development in the country.

He also commended the NPP for conducting peaceful internal elections.

Below are the sitting NPP MPs who lost the primaries.

1Joseph Cudjoe – Effia

2Freda Prempeh – Tano North

3Sarah Adwoa Safo – Dome Kwabenya

4Ama Pomaa Boateng – Juaben

5Sheila Bartels – Ablekuma North

6Moses Anim – Trobu

7John Benam Jabaale – Zabzugu

8Tina Naa Ayerley Mensah – Weija/Gbawe

9Eugene Boakye Antwi – Subin

10Akwasi Afrifa Mensah – Amasaman

11Dr Amoako Kissi – Anyaa Sowutuom

12Yves Hanson Nortey – Tema Central

13Bright Wireko Brobbey – Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira

14Elvis Donkor – Abura Asebu Kwamankese

15Erickson Abekah – Shama

16Akwasi Darko Boateng – Bosome Freho

17Kwadjo Asante – Suhum

18Mahama Asem Seini – Daboya

19Gifty Twum Ampofo – Abuakwa North

20Lariba Zuwera Abudu – Walewale

21Collins Ntim – Offinso North

22Kofi Okyere Agyekum – Fanteakwa South

23Amankwah Asiamah – Fanteakwa North

24John Osei Frimpong – Abirem

25Isaac Kwame Asiamah – Atwima Mponua

26George Kwabena Obeng Takyi – Manso Nkwanta

27Emmanuel Akwasi Gyamfi – Odotobri

28Emmanuel Anwhere – Atwima Nwabiagya